Bermuda Blockchain Working Group

Bermuda Blockchain Working Group Members Announced

Bermuda Blockchain Task Force team members were announced through a press conference on November 22, 2017 led by the Premier, the Hon. David Burt, JP, MP. The task force will look to advance the regulatory environment and develop Bermuda as a destination for Utility Tokens, Tokenised Securities, Cryptocurrencies, and Coin Offerings. The task force has established two working groups to advance the development of this emerging area of technology for the benefit of Bermuda and Bermudians. The working groups will work under the direction of the Minister of National Security, the Hon. Wayne Caines, JP, MP.

The Blockchain Legal and Regulatory Working Group will be chaired by Ms. Lydia Dickens, while Mr. John Narroway will chair the Blockchain Business Development Working Group.

Ms. Dickens is the Director of the Business Development Unit (BDU) in the Ministry of Economic Development and Tourism. Her work includes working in partnership with the Bermuda Development Agency (BDA), industry focus groups, government departments, and other stakeholders to facilitate legislative and policy reform. The BDU also works closely with the BDA to provide assistance to new businesses seeking to establish operations in Bermuda. Lydia has provided legal representation and support on employment litigation and tax matters, major infrastructure projects, commercial development projects, housing redevelopments, and other community development projects.

Members of the Legal and Regulatory Working Group are:

  • Hon. Michael Scott, JP, MP, former Minister of Telecommunications & E-Commerce
  • Kevin Anderson, Senior Analyst Policy, Legal Services, and Enforcement – Bermuda Monetary Authority
  • Sean Moran, Business Development Manager – Bermuda Business Development Agency
  • Paula Tyndale, National Coordinator – National Anti-Money Laundering Committee
  • Sean Smatt, Head of Corporate Banking – Butterfield Bank
  • Chris Garrod, Director – Conyers Dill & Pearman
  • Stephen Gift, Assistant Financial Secretary – Ministry of Finance, Government of Bermuda

Mr. John Narroway is a veteran of the entrepreneurial and mobile technology scene in Bermuda, having created technology-based ventures and held C-level positions in both private and publicly-traded companies. John is the co-founder and Executive Vice President of Saker Aircraft that is developing the world’s first personal supersonic jet. He also founded Midori Ventures, a company that is designing electric-transport solutions, including the AMP Motorcycle.

Members of the Business Development Working Group are:

  • Ashley Lynn, Investment Manager, Orbis Investments
  • Ariane West, Partner – Taylors in association with Walkers
  • Chris Garrod, Director – Conyers Dill & Pearman
  • Stuart Lacey, Founder, and CEO – Trunomi
  • Stafford Lowe, Chief Administrative Officer – DrumG
  • Artie Darrell, President, and CEO – Darrell International

The attached photo shows members of the working groups with the Premier, the Hon. David Burt, JP, MP and the Minister of National Security, the Hon. Wayne Caines, JP, MP.